Leather bound collection: The Divine Comedy by Dante

The Divine ComedyI have a weak spot for beautiful leather bound books. Recently I found several high quality tomes at Barnes & Noble on sale for only $20 each, so I just had to have all of them. One of the books I purchased is The Divine Comedy by Dante – a great classic of the past depicting the author’s journey through hell, purgatory and heaven – his final destination. I’m very impressed by the quality of the leather and gold etching, as well as frequent beautiful illustrations. The book starts with some basic information on the author and the process of writing, which is really easy to read compared to some introductions I’ve read in the past. It was especially interesting to learn that Dante invented his own way of organizing the stanzas, and that it was never copied by any other poet. I do realize that reading this epos would be rather challenging, because it’s over seven hundred pages of whimsical fourteenth century language, but I’m sure it would be worth it. My only concern is that poetry usually loses its original charm in translation, but since my knowledge of Italian is limited to hello/goodbye, I shouldn’t complain.

Details

6 comments

  1. Envy is the word. Purgatorio has been sitting on my shelf for a month, but I can’t find a decent translation of Inferno.

  2. Yes, I’m very happy with my purchase. It’s a gorgeous book worthy of its contents. I sure hope you find Inferno in a version that would satisfy you.

  3. Anonymous · ·

    Dorothey Sayers – Great translation and as a reputable, leading Dante scholar, her notes provide insights into Dante that are truly enlightening. But much like Virgil, her guidance ends at Paradiso but luckily for you Inferno seemed to be your sole concern.

  4. Wow enjoyed reading your post. I submitted your rss to my google reader!!

  5. Thank you very much! Enjoy!

  6. Hello, pretty new to this particular website but regardless, I can’t help but remark on this particular book. how would I be able to get a copy of Dantes Inferno in this type of binding?

    Do they come in multiple books, or ae they all in-cased in one volume?

Leave a Reply

