The Tudors: Season 3

The Tudors: Season 3I’m a bit late with this review, but I still can’t believe that there were only eight episodes in the third season. The ending felt rushed, compared to previous finales, and the season itself wasn’t nearly as good as the second one. There wasn’t as much drama on the love front I guess. Both Jane Seymour and Anne of Cleves were too passive to engage the storyline. I can’t believe I’m saying this but I miss Anne Boleyn and her devilish schemes.

SPOILERS AHEAD: Please be aware

Speaking of Jane, at first I was reluctant about the change of the actress. However, I loved the new one even better, as she seemed a little less awkward at acting. The character itself was everything that Anne Boleyn wasn’t: patient, submissive and quiet. She was pleasant to watch, but seemed a little unreal. I mean, no scheming? No intrigues? I wonder how she managed to survive at court for over a year before her untimely death. Well, I guess, she didn’t fully take a hold of Henry, considering the whole Ursula ordeal. Gosh, I hate that woman. Though, it was sweet to watch Henry and Jane love-birding right before Edward’s birth.

When the Queen #4 came along I got very disappointed with Henry. He treated Anne of Cleves horribly which showed really well through his facade of good manners. Which in turn made the whole relationship seem even more theatrical and disrespectful than it was to begin with. It was amusing to watch how easy Henry found yet another way to get out of unwanted marriage and look righteous while doing it.

As I look back at the finale, I can’t help but think that I was cheated out of a good sensible ending. Mary’s relationship with Phillip could have been explored more. Otherwise, I don’t see how I’m supposed to sympathize with her broken heart when the whole affair lasted for less than an episode. And no matter how much I disliked Cromwell during the first season, I felt really bad about his gruesome fate (and those who’ve seen the show will know what I mean). At last, and definitely least, what is up with Catherine Howard?! Ugh, is she on drugs or something? Henry’s taste is certainly deteriorating with age…

Leave a Reply

