Question of the day: Preferences

btt button

  • Reading something frivolous? Or something serious? Serious. I’m assuming that “frivolous”  means women’s fiction and such. I do like reading humorous titles, but I wouldn’t call them frivolous.
  • Paperbacks? Or hardcovers? Hardcovers. I know a lot of people wouldn’t understand this preference, but I see hardcovers as an investment, meaning that they look better on the shelf, have a longer lifespan, and increase in value over time if you choose them right.
  • Fiction? Or Nonfiction? Overall, fiction I guess. But I do like non-fiction that cover my favourite topics just as much.
  • Poetry? Or Prose? Prose. Poetry is not excluded from my reading list, but I find it harder to concentrate on the storyline when you read poetry. Besides, authors, unless they are pure geniuses, tend to include a lot of words just for the sake of rhyme and rhythm, which distorts the true meaning.
  • Biographies? Or Autobiographies? Biographies. Cos we all like to portray ourselves in better light.
  • History? Or Historical Fiction? Very similar to fiction or non-fiction question. So I can’t really answer. It depends on the subject.
  • Series? Or Stand-alones? Stand-alones. Series tend to slope downwards after a while.
  • Classics? Or best-sellers? Classics, but some best-sellers do become modern classics as well, so I like reading them too.
  • Lurid, fruity prose? Or straight-forward, basic prose? Lurid to the degree I would say. Before I buy a book, I always read the first paragraph to make sure I like the author’s style of writing. For example, I find Stephen King’s prose a little too straight-forward for my liking. 
  • Plots? Or Stream-of-Consciousness? Plots. Unless it’s a drug-induced stream-of-consciousness; then things get interesting. lol
  • Long books? Or Short? Umm, depends on my mood. Mostly long I would say, but I like to read shorter ones in between to let my brain rest a bit.
  • Illustrated? Or Non-illustrated? Doesn’t matter. But it is always good when the author themselves does the illustrations.
  • Borrowed? Or Owned? Owned. Sometimes I do like to borrow a book from a library before buying it, if I’m not sure if I like it. But I do own all books that I’ve enjoyed reading so far.
  • New? Or Used? Both, but if I’m getting it used I like it to be a fine to near fine condition.

Leave a Reply

