Books read in 2009.

The year is over, so is my book challenge. I haven’t read that much compared to other bloggers out there, but I did read more than I used to, which proves that I’m finally finding some “me” time with a good book. The challenge definitely made me try harder, broaden my horizons a bit. Thanks to it I discovered some new book blogs that inspired me to read more and introduced me to new authors I wouldn’t even think to pick up.

This year I really got into Tudor history and philosophical musings of Haruki Murakami. I’ve read quite a few of humourous memoirs, which is rather uncharacteristic of me; and tackled a classic, hopefully one of many to come. I have also collected several leather bound novels from Easton Press, and discovered the joy of investing in a beautiful library (photos to come, I guess). But first things first, the reason for this post – the books I’ve read in 2009:

Book #1: The Year of Living Biblically: One Man’s Humble Quest to Follow the Bible as Literally as Possible by A. J. Jacobs
Book #2: After Dark by Haruki Murakami
Book #3: The Nature of Monsters by Clare Clark
Book #4: When You Are Engulfed in Flames by David Sedaris
Book #5: Geek Love by Katherine Dunn
Book #6: The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams
Book #7: The Other Boleyn Girl by Philippa Gregory
Book #8: Coraline by Neil Gaiman
Book #9: The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman
Book #10: After the Quake: Stories by Haruki Murakami
Book #11: Nocturnes: Five Stories of Music and Nightfall by Kazuo Ishiguro
Book #12: Twenty Thousand Leagues Under The Sea by Jules Verne
Book #13: The Lost Symbol by Dan Brown
Book #14: The Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson

The best book for me was probably After the Quake: Stories. I loved every aspect of it and felt like re-reading it again right after finishing it. On the other hand The Lost Symbol remained the biggest disappointment of the year. The novel wasn’t terrible, but it didn’t excite me as the previous Dan Brown’s books did. Not even close. There were a few books that I would probably never pick up again, and a few that I will treasure forever.

Leave a Reply

