Reading Series

I wonder how many people read entire series by one author. I know I cannot commit to that. Well, I should probably correct myself by saying that I might drive myself crazy if I try reading one author, one book after another. Like on my iPod, I like to shuffle things. I am always looking at people who claim to read the entire Harry Potter practically in one sitting with groupie admiration. Wow, you guys have superpowers! Knowing my commitment issues, I was surely surprised when I took a look at my LibraryThing page that summarized all the series that found their way into my personal library. Here’s the amazing list the website threw back at me. Now I must add that these are only the classical works (at least in my opinion), and with this list I am actually contemplating on finishing the entire series. The books from the series listed are the ones I actually own in my library:

  • Arsene Lupin by Maurice Leblanc: the series contains 20 books about the gentleman-thief. While I am mostly interested in the first two volumes, I would not mind reading the entire collection. Besides I really like how the Barnes & Noble matching paperbacks might look on my bookshelf.
    • The Exploits of Arsene Lupin
    • Arsene Lupin vs. Herlock Sholmes
  • D’Artagnan Romances by Alexandre Dumas: There are 5 books in total describing the lives of the famous three musketeers and the hotheaded Gascon D’Artagnan. At the moment I own only the first book, and while sequels do not appeal to much as much, I am very interested in the last book The Man in the Iron Mask.
    • The Three Musketeers
  • Harry Potter by J.K.Rowling: Here’s the weirdest thing about me – I have never read Harry Potter. Well, I did read the first book when it first came out, but I have never felt the urge to continue with the series. Something tells me I should just finish it all for the sake of being called “normal”.
    • Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone
  • Hercule Poirot Mystery by Agatha Christie: 39 books in this one. I have read some of them here and there when I was a kid, but unfortunately I do not recall any of them besides And Then There Were None.
    • The Mysterious Affair at Styles
  • Howl’s Castle by Diana Jones: I heard many good things about it, but I have to confess the new paperback’s covers caught my eye the most, so I decided to include it into my list. I know, I know…
    • Howl`s Moving Castle
  • Les Voyages Extraodinaires by Jules Verne: I believe there is about a 1000 books in this series. I might be exaggerating, but I am not far from the truth. I’ve already finished Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea, but I am looking forward to the Captain Grant’s Children – a personal favorite of my dad. 
    • Captain Grant’s Children
    • Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea
  • The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R.Tolkien: Another one of those books that condemn you to public shame, when you confess to not reading them. Yes, I’ve never read LOTR, but since I finished Hobbit last year, I think I have enough background knowledge to tackle the monster. 
    • Fellowship of the Ring
    • Two Towers
    • Return of the King

Leave a Reply

