Does the postman really ring twice?

At least mine knocks, and today he brought a whole bunch of goodies. This is another package from The Book Depository that I was looking forward to the whole week. It consisted of:

1. The Woman in White by Wilkie Collins
2. Blotto, Twinks and the Ex-King’s Daughter by Simon Brett
3. After the Quake by Haruki Murakami
4. The Elephant Vanishes by Haruki Murakami
5. Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones

Like I mentioned in my previous post on shopping, I am obsessing about possessing Wilkie Collins’ entire bibliography. After my order was placed for The Woman in White, I received a recommendation from Madame Vauquer to try Wilkie’s Armadale and No Name, which in her opinion was even better. I have Armadale sitting on my  wishlist, so I am starting kicking myself for not getting it with this batch! I am not sure if Penguin has a new edition of No Name to offer, but if they do I’d definitely grab it for my library!

I saw a review of Blotto, Twinks and the Ex-King’s Daughter somewhere on blogosphere a couple of years ago, and since then it’s been at the back of my mind. I love old-fashion pulp crime fiction, so I thought this retro-stylized detective might be of interest to me. It’s impossible to find in the libraries where I live, so I decided to buy it. Can’t to get to it!

You might find it strange how many modern fiction books I purchased considering my resolution to stick with mostly classics, but for me Haruki Murakami IS a grand example of modern classicism. I’ve read After the Quake before, and it still remains one of my favorite books. I am planning on making a special post on the topic soon, so I am not going to reveal much this time, except that I’m staring to see the book from a different kind of perspective in the light of recent events in Japan. Another one of Murakami’s short fiction collections that I set my eyes on is The Elephant Vanishes, and it contains considerably more material than the other one. I love taking my time with these gems of literature that is packed full of a weird mix of ordinary and surreal images.

Finally, the last book is Howl’s moving Castle. I mentioned before that I am trying to catch up on juvenile literature that I missed out on during my childhood. I thought this book was a good place to start, since I had no real clue what the book was all about. Also, the new edition of paperbacks by Diana Wynne Jones are so adorable and bright, I think they’ll make a great gift for a child after I’m finished reading them. Now, I must find some time to read these!

Leave a Reply

