Spring Cleaning

With all my recent purchases, I noticed that my bookshelves are getting impossibly full. Now I have books lying around my table, nightstand, printer… There is even a small pile on the floor by the bed. Books are taking over my living space, and are not being stored properly. Therefore I decided to get rid of some of the titles I would probably never pick up again. This is what I came up with:

Book that I bought, but have never read.

  1. The Sister by Poppy Adams
  2. Interred With Their Bones by Jennifer Carrell
  3. The Bestiary by Nicolas Christopher
  4. Mistress of the Art of Death by Ariana Franklin
  5. The Aviary Gate by Katie Hickman
  6. The Devil in the White City by Erik Larson
  7. Season of the Witch by Natasha Mostert
  8. Peony in  Love by Lisa See
  9. The Secret Supper by Javier Sierra
  10. Saving Fish from Drowning by Amy Tan
  11. American Eve by Paula M. Uruburu

Books that I have read, but am willing to part with

  1. The Other Boleyn Girl by Philippa Gregory
  2. Eragon by Christopher Paolini
  3. Eldest by Christopher Paolini
  4. When You’re Engulfed in Flames by David Sedaris

So here’s my question to you. Am I making a mistake? Are any of these worth keeping. I bought these books, because the descriptions appealed to me. Now I’m just not sure if I would like them at all. If you’ve read and enjoyed any of them, please drop a line and prevent me from missing out on a treasure.

2 comments

  1. I haven’t read most of the books that you list. However, I have read Peony in Love by Lisa See and thought it was fantastic. It is “different” though. If you’ve read Snow Flower and the Secret Fan don’t be expecting anything too similar. See takes a big risk with the whole premise of this novel – but in my humble opinion she pulls it off. Oh, and if you haven’t already read the back cover – don’t. It sort of ruins it.

    The only other book from your list that I’ve tried is Saving Fish From Drowning which I found excruciating and couldn’t make it even halfway through.

  2. I have been debating about getting rid of Peony in Love, as I have heard great things about it. A couple of years ago I tried reading the first few pages, but for some reason I never picked it up again. I think I will keep the book and actually try reading it first, before making the final decision. Saving Fish made into my library thanks to the hype when it was first published. However, I don’t think I care for it anymore. Off the bookshelves it goes! Thank you for your input.

Leave a Reply

