Reading Stats [August]

Since my Kobo has been the main source of my reading lately, I think I should utilize it a bit more in terms of documenting my reading patterns. Thankfully it gives me all sorts of numbers to play with, which in turn allows me to compose a quick round up for the beginning of the month. When I look at the list, certain goals come to my mind – I’ve got to finish at least one of the longer novels and Stoker’s short story collection by the end of August. Usually I like to mix it up, when it comes to my reading list. I do try to include a shorter novel (under 250 pages), one massive volume (450+ pages), a few short stories by famous authors, and perhaps a nonfiction title under a subject of interest. For some reason I went for two chunkier novels this month – one by Collins and another by Martin, – with the latter jumping ahead on my reading pile on a whim.

  1. The Moonstone by Wilkie Collins [40% complete]
  2. A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin [24% complete]
  3. Dracula’s Guest and Other Weird Tales by Bram Stoker [53% complete]
  4. The Narrative of Arthur Gordon Pym of Nantucket by Edgar Allan Poe [21% complete]

Also I would like to start some nonfiction this month that’s been tempting me for a while. As soon as I can free some time for them I would love to get to know House and Philosophy: Everybody Lies by William Irwin and the first volume of The History of the Decline and Fall of Roman Empire by Edward Gibbon. I hope I can actually get to these two by the end of August.

Leave a Reply

