Reading Stats [September and October]

With school gaining its pace like a runaway train I regretfully find myself with less and less time to read. This weekend I suddenly realized that I haven’t read a thing for a whole week (I know, crazy stuff)! I usually read on the train on the way to and back from school, but lately I’ve been getting rides. I used to read before going to sleep, but now with the double load from university and work I can barely make it to bed still conscious. My reading has been suffering, but I am trying to catch up to precious lost opportunities. After all, life is not long enough to read everything you want.

  1. The Moonstone by Wilkie Collins [40% complete] – I got stuck when the narrative changed to that other lady.
  2. A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin [100% complete] – Still need to write out a post for it. Soon enough!
  3. Dracula’s Guest and Other Weird Tales by Bram Stoker [100% complete] – Thoughts on the anthology posted on September 16th.
  4. The Narrative of Arthur Gordon Pym of Nantucket by Edgar Allan Poe [100% complete] – Posted as well on August 14th.
  5. 1984 by George Orwell [100% complete] – Need to post publish this one.
  6. The Happy Return by C. S. Forester [27% complete]
  7. House and Philosophy: Everybody Lies by Henry Jacoby [11% complete]
  8. Elephant Vanishes by Haruki Murakami [5% complete]

6 comments

  1. I have been planning to buy House and Philosophy for sometime now.Is it worst a read?whats your opinion about it??

  2. So far I’ve read the first couple of essays, and I am rather enjoying them. I think you do have to have interest in philosophical ideas to enjoy the book, as it constantly references major works by great philosophical minds like Aristotle or Plato. That said, you do not have to have a Philosophy degree to understand it, because the authors explain concepts very well; by tying them to particular episodes of House they make the science very relevant to an average person.

    If you are still not sure, try borrowing the book from the library or read first few pages in a book store to give you a better idea before purchasing it. I borrowed my copy, and I’m thinking of actually buying it for my personal collection. Then again, I LOVE popular science books. Good luck!

  3. Sorry for the typo in the comment-I meant is it worth a read…but I think I got the answer.

    I love philosophy a lot.Trying to cultivate a reading habit.My English is just average and it takes a lot of time while reading searching for unknown words 😦

    Hopefully it will improve over time.And i totally love your collection.You have a good taste in books.

    Looking forward to reading some books from your list.

    PS-I am following your blog with high hopes now.

  4. Thank you very much, I hope you will enjoy this blog and maybe find a few new books to read. I have scheduled a couple new posts in the near future, and once my exams are over, I will get back to writing more regularly.

    By the way, the more you will read in English the easier it will become. Go for it! 🙂

  5. wau, you more like my friend John is your book taste. I think you guys are cut out of the same cloth anways- the taste is awsome. I am new here and will be checking out your new addition. I triend 1984 and I was too distracted to reaaly grasp the idea-want to reread it soon. I have recently finished “finding your true north”. I have been more on personal development and Business book lately, but I want to go back to novel as I am planning to write one soon. Lastly I love your blog and books.

  6. Welcome and thank you. 1984 is a very interesting book; in fact, I never thought I would like it, but it pleasantly surprised me! Do give it another shot. Like you, I’ve been very interested in non-fiction lately, and hopefully I will post something about the titles I’ve read so far. To make sure that you never miss another post, feel free to follow me on Twitter and Bloglovin!

    And by the way, good luck on your novel!

Leave a Reply

