Plans for 2012. A post of not exactly New Year’s resolutions.

It’s hard to believe that 2011 is gone already. I was just getting in the reading groove, and now it is time to write up some conclusions. I have been blogging here on and off for about three years, the process being a roller coaster journey. I started out as a reader lacking any kind of direction, not sure of my own tastes and picking up a book if it sounded good in the blurb on the back cover. There were so many books around me, I did not know where to start. 2011 became a year when I shaped myself into a more conscious reader. I realized that I could never read everything ever written; therefore I had to find an area to concentrate on. Classic books appealed to me the most, but I was not about to call myself a classic book blogger. I was never fond of labels. I wanted to read books that felt special to me, and I wanted to deviate from my main path without feeling guilty. I needed to step away sometimes from a “smart” book and read a “silly” one. Confused about my choices? I told you, defining myself as a reader is a journey, I haven’t reached the destination yet. As for what I would like to achieve in 2012, here’s my testimony:

  • I aim to read more. Last year the blog saw only about seventeen books; so pitiful. I had a hard time outlining which ones exactly would fall into a classic category. On one hand there were a few very traditional classics (ie. Pride and Prejudice), but I also had a few older works that usually are left out from such lists (ie. The Happy Return). This year I would like to read at least thirty books, with most of them being classics. There is going to be a leeway for fun modern reads, but I do not want the number to go over 30%.
  • I promise myself to read more obscure authors. If it is a 19th century ghost story nobody has heard of, send it my way. If it is a vampire tale predating Dracula, count me in. I want to expand my vision of what a true classic book should be like. Just because everyone forgot about its existence, it doesn’t mean the book is not worthy of my attention.
  • I vow to get to the books I started in 2011 and never finished. This includes Nana, The Three Musketeers, and The Moonstone. It is time I cross them off my list. Besides, I am tired of seeing the Collins title sitting on my right sidebar for the last six months. All these books were wonderful, so who knows why I stopped reading them.
  • I resolve to use the library to its full extent. Interlibrary loan better be scared. Today I went and renewed my library card. Gosh, I forgot how nice it is to browse around the library.
  • I swear to try my best and read at a pace of about a book a week, as well as post about my progress more often. Perhaps this blog will see more frequent postings compared to the years past. I was never really fond of posting anything outside of final thoughts on a book, but perhaps 2012 will change that. Stats, lists, projects? Who knows.

As a bonus, here are some books I am excited to get to this year:

HAPPY READING!

3 comments

  1. Jillian ♣ · ·

    Great goals, Andrea! Best of luck to you. I’ll be reading The Odyssey for the first time this year, too. It feels like the father of literature, to me. So it’s about time. 🙂

  2. Thank you. I’ve read The Odyssey when I was about fourteen for the first time. I don’t remember the story much except a few details, but I do remember that I managed to read the whole book in one sitting by pulling an all-nighter. I guess I was really into it!

  3. […] Going back to books, I actually finished a couple of titles; mostly thanks to my commuting to and from school. I have very many books to post about, and I confess to be completely embarrassed at how behind I am with that. But never fear; once school is out I have a whole week in the end of April to catch up and get back on track with my New Year’s resolutions. […]

Leave a Reply

