Reading Stats [April]

Welcome to April, my friends. Is it really spring already? With school finishing up in less than three weeks and me graduating I barely noticed the first three months of the year fly by. I am really looking forward to finishing my academic career (at least for now) and stopping working part-time, and finally getting into a more stable schedule. Perhaps, I will have more time to read and blog then. Ah, the blissful days. You might call me overly optimistic, and all you fine adults living in the real world might argue my vision of the future, but I remain hopeful. In this post I would like to do some housekeeping, and get things organized before my final sprint for the finish line.

Like I mentioned in my earlier post, I have had very little time to post here. I was also plagued by obscene procrastination whenever I actually got some free time to myself. It’s pretty hard to motivate yourself to write something on your blog, when you just finished putting together a 5,000 word paper the night before and all you want to do is mindlessly stare at the TV for a while. Kidding, I actually spent my free time browsing for new books to add to my library and playing on Facebook. I actually have the last episode of Mad Men and the premiere of The Game of Thrones recorded (which I’m dying to watch), but cannot find time to actually sit down and enjoy them. So sad.

Going back to books, I actually finished a couple of titles; mostly thanks to my commuting to and from school. I have very many books to post about, and I confess to be completely embarrassed at how behind I am with that. But never fear; once school is out I have a whole week in the end of April to catch up and get back on track with my New Year’s resolutions.

Books finished [February and March] 5/8 :

  • Around the World in Eighty Days by Jules Verne
  • The Book of Chameleons by Jose Eduardo Agualusa
  • Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins
  • The Land that Time Forgot by Edgar Rice Burroughs
  • Frankenstein by Mary Shelley

Books in progress:

  • Murder on the Links by Agatha Christie [29%]
  • A Clash of Kings by George R. R. Martin [17%]
  • The Voyage Out by Virginia Woolf [2%]

Readalongs:

  • Clarissa by Samuel Richardson – Very behind on this, but I am not giving up. Once school is over I’ll get back to it and try to participate in the discussions as much as I can. The sole idea of having the longest book written in English under my belt makes me want to press on.

Additions to the library: 

  • The Big Book of Adventure Stories edited by Otto Penzler
  • The Long Ships by Frans G. Bengtsson
  • The Complete Tales of Beatrix Potter by Beatrix Potter
  • The Complete Tales of Winnie-The-Pooh by A. A. Milne
  • A Study in Terror by Ellery Queen

Plans for April [or near future]:

  1. Continue on with A Clash of Kings as the TV show progresses. Reading The Game of Thrones while watching the first season really helped me visualize the book. The good thing about the HBO series is that they really stick to the original,, so no disappointments there.
  2. Get to the next book of Sherlock Holmes and finish up the second book in Hercule Poirot mysteries. I’m trying to work my way through the works of Arthur Conan Doyle and Agatha Christie right now. I would like to find a comfortable pace for this project which wouldn’t make me sick of reading the same author too often, but would still allow for some retention of atmosphere and writing style. One book every couple of months would be sufficient, I imagine.
  3. Read an obscure Gothic novel. The first few to come to mind are Castle Eppstein by Alexandre Dumas and The House of a Thousand Candles by Meredith Nicholson. Also, I need to squeeze some Edgar Allen Poe in here; it’s been too long since I visited this guy last.
  4. Post thoughts on all books read in the previous two months.
  5. Study some more philosophy with House and Philosophy. I make notes on the theories learned from the book, and sometimes reread favourite essays, which makes my progress rather slow. But boy, do I ever enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

