Reading Stats [May]

April was a month for new beginnings. Firstly, I finally finished my exams, and if all is good, I’ll be graduating in May. It still feels weird to know that the business degree I’ve been working for four years is finally mine. So now I’m in the process of looking for a new job. Secondly, I finally began moving in with my boyfriend of four years, and that’s a bit nerve-wrecking. As for reading books, the last week of April gave me an opportunity to relax and enjoy a few stories. As you will see, I have not finished much, but I have successfully began several hefty novels. I am happy with the progress I’ve made so far and the quality of books I’ve picked to read. The Fellowship of the Ring is surprisingly easy to read, considering all my fears about Tolkien and his writing. I am loving A Clash of Kings even though this season took a few liberties concerning the plot. Master and Margarita is my first Russian novel in a long time, and I have to say it’s surprisingly refreshing. I had to postpone my Virginia Woolf experience for later, as I find that I am just not in the mood for it. I should be returning to it a bit later.

As for my plans for April, I didn’t do all that bad. For my first goal, I wanted to follow The Game of Thrones series by reading the book at the same time. Even though I am a bit behind on my reading, I am proud to see a quarter of the chunkster under my belt already. For my second goal, I wanted to finish the next book of Hercule Poirot and start the second novel in Sherlock Holmes series. I succeeded with both, and even finished The Sign of Four ahead of schedule. My third goal asked for an obscure Gothic novel. I didn’t find time for this one, but I did manage to re-visit Edgar Allen Poe by reading his short story. It feels good to sit down with a master of macabre on a rainy evening. The fourth goal was achieved with flying colours, because I did manage to catch up with my posts from February and March. Finally, I am on track with my writing! For the concluding goal, I unfortunately didn’t have time to study philosophy at all. But as we all know, there is always May to do that. All in all, it turned out to be a pretty good month. Can’t wait to see what May brings!

Books finished [April] 2/4 + 2 Short Stories:

  • Murder on the Links by Agatha Christie
  • The Sign of Four by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
  • Gold Bug by Edgar Allan Poe
  • The Vampyre, A Tale by John Polidori

Books in progress:

  • The Fellowship of the Ring by J. R. R. Tolkien [30%]
  • A Clash of Kings by George R. R. Martin [25%]
  • Master and Margarita by Mikhail Bulgakov [22%]
  • The Voyage Out by Virginia Woolf [On Hold]

Readalongs:

  • Clarissa by Samuel Richardson – Poor Clarissa, I’ve been so mean to you. Never fear, I foresee great changes come next month.

Additions to the library: 

  • Queen Sheba’s Ring by H. Rider Haggard
  • Game of Thrones and Philosophy by Henry Jacoby
  • Stuff White People Like: A Definitive Guide to the Unique Taste of Millions by Christian Lander
  • Poirot Investigates by Agatha Christie
  • War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy [Russian Edition]

Plans for May [or near future]:

  1. Press on with A Clash of Kings. The show is halfway done, and I am still mingling in the beginning. The further I read, the more I want to know what’s going to happen. I’m hoping my favourite characters are going to survive the second book. That means you: Jon, Daenerys, and Tyrion!
  2. Finish The Fellowship of the Ring and as many other books started in April as I can. I have a bad habit of picking up new books without finishing other ones. Sometimes my mood strikes me to read something specific, and I end up losing interest in whatever was in front of me in the first place.
  3. Finish The Three Musketeers to cross it off my “Abandoned” list. This year I wanted to clean up my “never-finished” list of doom just because I hate leaving things undone. Like I mentioned in my New Year’s post, I still have the Dumas major novel, Nana, and The Moonstone to tread through.
  4. Still try to read an obscure Gothic novel.
  5. Post thoughts on all books read in April and catch up with May’s readings. This blog needs more love!
  6. Study philosophy with House and Philosophy or begin Histories by Herodotus. Being done with school doesn’t mean you can’t continue your education.
  7. Practice some French or Japanese to get my rusty language skills to work.

2 comments

  1. Jillian ♣ · ·

    Have you read The Mysteries of Udolpho? That’s a great one for your Gothic goal. 🙂

  2. I keep hearing about The Mysteries of Udolpho a lot lately. But all I know about it is that it’s an old Gothic novel that is also part of 1001 Books You Must Read Before You Die. Seriously, I need to get my hands on it! Thanks for recommendation.

Leave a Reply

