Library Sale

As every book lover knows, missing a library sale is crazy talk. Today was the first day of Book2Buy event at our central branch, and I knew I had to get there asap, before all the good stuff was gone. All hardcovers were promised to go for $2 and paperbacks for meager $1. All in all my mom and I left an hour later with no less than forty four books. Surprisingly, we got charged a dollar for every book nevermind the format. A great treasure hunt indeed. We went early in the morning, and ended up hitting the sale bins only an hour after opening, but the place was  bursting with people already. I saw somebody snagging The Blind Assassin by Margaret Atwood and that’s when I knew I had to move fast before other goodies escaped my grasp. Fortunately I got to the English literature table full of classics before it got ransacked.

My biggest challenge was to ignore some books that I already had in other formats. I figured that even though I had most of these as ebooks, a paper copy was always a welcome addition to any library. Thanks to that logic I plunged into the classics guilt-free, but decided to be cautious with contemporary reads. Here are the books I picked for myself:

  • The Last of the Mohicans by James Fenimore Cooper
  • The Hunchback of Notre-Dame by Victor Hugo
  • Vanity Fair by William Thackeray
  • Don Quixote by Miguel de Cervantes
  • David Copperfield by Charles Dickens
  • The Sound and the Fury by William Faulkner
  • The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde
  • The Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton
  • The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne
  • Catch-22 by Joseph Heller
  • The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson
  • The importance of Being Earnest by Oscar Wilde

  • Kitchen by Banana Yoshimoto
  • The Lady Elizabeth by Alison Weir
  • The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame
  • Fall of Giants by Ken Follett
  • The Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett
  • The Complete Shorter Fiction by Wilkie Collins

  • Mary, Queen of Scots by Alison Weir
  • Alexander’s Tomb by Nicholas J. Saunders

4 comments

  1. That looks like a lovely pile of books. Banana Yoshimoto’s Kitchen is one of my favorites!

  2. Thank you! I heard great things about Kitchen, so when I saw it sitting there I couldn’t resist taking it.

    By the way, I love your project. You’ve got yourself another follower!

  3. Thanks! Hope you enjoy Kitchen!

  4. So many must-reads!

Leave a Reply

