Reading Stats [June]

So, the summer months are finally here. May swooshed by in a blink of an eye, and I was left to wonder if making plans for the month was even worth the effort. I don’t know about you, but May has always been the most elusive time of the year for me. It always sneaks up, kicks me in the butt and runs away all pleased with itself. Oh well, I have learned all too well not to bring myself down with the lack of accomplishments, but rather to look ahead and think of the months to come.During May I managed to work almost full-time, which left me with barely any time for myself and reading. Nevertheless, I am happy to see the first book in The Lord of the Rings finally finished. I made barely any progress with A Clash of Kings, but kept on track with the show (so exited for the season finale this weekend!). Still, I am planning to complete this one as well as soon as I can.

I haven’t finished The Three Musketeers like I wanted, but I started reading it again a few days ago. Opening the book for the second time, I faced an inevitable choice: starting all over again, or jumping straight to the middle of the story where I left off last. I decided to re-read it from the beginning, since the details of the book were a bit hazy in my head. Was that a good decision? I don’t know, but I sure am enjoying revisiting the silly characters of d’Artagnan, Athos, Porthos and Aramis.

My self-education in languages and philosophy fell a bit behind, but I am doing my best to keep learning bits and peaces to keep my “little grey cells” working at all times. For this occasion I also purchased a few more study guides for the languages I’m learning. I have a good base for both French and Japanese, since I’ve taken them in school for a couple of years, but I want to expand that knowledge to be proficient one day. Hopefully, June will show better results.

Books finished [May] 2/4:

  • The Secret of Terror Castle by Robert Arthur Jr.
  • The Fellowship of the Ring by J. R. R. Tolkien

Books in progress:

  • A Clash of Kings by George R. R. Martin [28%]
  • Master and Margarita by Mikhail Bulgakov [22%]
  • Flashman by George MacDonald Fraser [9%]
  • The Three Musketeers by Alexandre Dumas Pere [6%]

Readalongs:

  • Clarissa by Samuel Richardson – Haven’t made much of progress yet.

Additions to the library: 

  • Albion: The Origins of the English Imagination by Peter Ackroyd
  • Storytelling Animal: How Stories Make Us Human by Jonathan Gottschall
  • Smoke and Mirrors by Neil Gaiman
  • Angelique by Anne and Serge Golon [Russian Edition]

Plans for June [or near future]:

  1. Try to finish A Clash of Kings. I do believe that the show took a few liberties this season, and I am anxious to see which scenes exactly have been modified from the original. Not to mention, the book is awesome and deserves some love.
  2. Finish The Three Musketeers and Master and Margarita. Both are pretty lengthy works, so I shall see how things are going to progress and adjust this goal accordingly.
  3. Begin Cement Garden by Ian McEwan. I need to read another McEwan ASAP (loved Atonement), and Cement Garden seems like a great option.
  4. Begin The Two Towers by J. R. R. Tolkien, maybe. This one will depend whether or not I will feel Tolkien-ed out by the mid-month or so. There is a possibility that I might need a vacation from Middle Earth.
  5. Try to get to Three Men in a Boat by Jerome K. Jerome. I’ve been telling myself for months that this needs to happen. So make it happen!

2 comments

  1. Angelique is great fun – although a bit dated now. 🙂

  2. I remember watching the French movies with my mom back in the day and expressing the desire to read the books because my friend was reading it. Considering we were 11 yo then, my mom was mortified. “Those are for adults!” she used to say. 🙂 Good days…

Leave a Reply

