Reading Stats [October]

Come October and I’m freezing again. I think it has nothing to do with the weather outside, but my body just knows that the long Canadian winter is upon us. The days are getting shorter, the air is chillier and it rains more often compared to the pretty dry September. The ground is a carpet of yellow and red, and the trees look somewhat skinny and sad. It also means my birthday is coming soon, another year for the blog, and more resolutions and promises I truly intend to break. October reminds me that it is time to finish stuff up and get things together. But then there is also Halloween and Thanksgiving, and plump pumpkins at the market and the cinnamon apple cider at the coffee shop. October is also a good month to sit in a favorite armchair with a good chunky book and read, all while listening to the rain, smelling the cranberry candles, and sipping chamomile tea. Somehow Poe, Dickens, Collins, all seem very appropriate for October.

Books finished [September] 3/4:

  • Beowulf by Anonymous
  • Out of Africa by Isak Dinesen
  • Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J. K. Rowling

Books in progress:

  • The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald [56%]
  • Lonesome Dove by Larry McMurtry [24%]
  • The Sailor Who Fell From Grace With the Sea by Yukio Mishima
  • The Aeneid by Virgil [19%]
  • The Brothers Karamazov by Fyodor Dostoyevsky [6%]

Additions to the library: 

  • The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle by Haruki Murakami
  • Love in the Time of Cholera by Gabriel Garcia Marquez
  • Kraken by Wendy Williams
  • The Iliad by Homer
  • The Odyssey by Homer

Plans for October [or near future]:

  1. Stay on track with my reading calendar and the Goodreads group reads. So far I am doing good, except The Aeneid. I find it a little hard to enjoy, since a lot of narration keeps referring to The Iliad. I haven’t read Homer’s classic just yet, so sometimes I have no clue what Aeneas is talking about. I might put that one on hold until I read The Iliad and The Odyssey.
  2. Squeeze in The Woman in White by Wilkie Collins and The Woman in Black by Susan Hill as part of my Halloween blog celebration. Isn’t that a fun concept? I will probably start somewhere in mid-October and continue into November.
  3. Finish The Great Gatsby and the The Sailor Who Fell From Grace With the Sea. These are pretty short, and the groups I am reading them with are planning to be done this month.
  4. Decide whether or not to join The Divine Comedy readalong. It goes on for about four months, so I should have no issues keeping up, but I am afraid to face same issues that prevent me from enjoying The Aeneid.

Leave a Reply

