Reading Stats [November]

Wait, is it November already? It sure is, because it’s Canada and about three feet of snow outside. October was a month of revival for me; maybe not for reading, but for many other hobbies of mine. In major news, I began my language studies again, and it felt very good to get back into that groove. I even started another blog to track my progress and to collect my notes. It’s amazing how much I managed to forget in the past two years. All that reviewing took up a lot of my free time. Even though my reading progress had been a bit slow this past month and I had fallen a bit behind on my schedule and discussion groups, I am still very happy with the final result.

Books finished [October] 2/4:

  • The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
  • The Sailor Who Fell From Grace With the Sea by Yukio Mishima

Books in progress:

  • Lonesome Dove by Larry McMurtry [34%]
  • The Brothers Karamazov by Fyodor Dostoyevsky [27%]
  • The Woman in White by Wilkie Collins [9%]

Additions to the library: 

  • The Believing Brain by Michael Shermer
  • Ready Player One by Ernest Cline
  • The Good Soldier Svejk by Jaroslav Hasek

Plans for October [or near future]:

  1. Number one priority for November is of course to catch up with my calendar. I am only a week or two behind, so it shouldn’t take too long before I am on track again.
  2. Continue with The Woman in White and The Woman in Black mini-challenge. It might go way into December, but I stopped caring about deadlines a long time ago.
  3. Get ready for the end of the year . That means trying to finish up as many books as possible before opening new ones. This will probably prevent me from starting chunkier books (sorry, A Storm of Swords), especially since I already have a few big ones in progress.

2 comments

  1. Any chance you’d be willing to share a link to your language learning blog? I’m (slowly) learning a language and I’d be curious to see how you use your blog.

  2. My language blog is set to private, since I use a lot of copyrighted material in my posts. But I have no problem letting you take a look. When you follow the link, just make sure you’re logged in into your wordpress account and request access to my page. One I receive it, I will add you as a reader and you can browse all you want.

    My blog

Leave a Reply

