The 2013 TBR Pile Challenge

Haha, there I go again and commit myself to challenge, when I perfectly know I am the runaway bride of books in terms of commitment. But the challenge over at Roof Beam Reader is too good to pass by: pick twelve books and two alternates (just in case) to finally cross off your TBR pile, read all that monstrosity, and get a chance to win a gift card to Amazon or Book Depository. I needed a kick in the pants to work on my TBR for a while. I keep looking longingly at all the great books I have always meant to read, but this is where I need to stop meaning and actually start reading. So, without further ado, I present to you my grande master list (which will be updated with the links to the reviews as I make progress):

Head over to Adam’s blog to check out the details and indulge in some great reviews.

2013 TBR

1. The Iliad by Homer
2. Long Ships by Frans G. Brengtsson
3. The Storm of Swords by George R.R. Martin
4. Adventures of Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
5. Poirot Investigates by Agatha Christie
6. Neuromancer by William Gibson
7. Confessions of the Mask by Yukio Mishima
8. Cement Garden by Ian McEwan
9. Captain Blood by Rafael Sabatini
10. Once and Future King by T.H. White
11. It by Stephen King
12. The Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follet

Alternates:

1. The Plant Hunters by Captain Mayne Reid
2. Ivanhoe by Sir Walter Scott

8 comments

  1. It is a great book by King. I hope you enjoy that one.

  2. Great list! I enjoyed The Cement Garden, though it is definitely strange/unsettling. I also love the Sherlock Holmes stories. I haven’t read IT but I’ve heard great things about it (loved the movie!). The Once & Future King wasn’t one of my favorites, but as a fan of Arthurian Legend, I’m glad to have read it. Looking forward to your reviews!

  3. I’ve been trying to get around reading It for about 8 years now. I actually started the book back in the day, but put it aside after thirty pages or so. I need to get back to it. I hope I love it too.

  4. I have been in the mood for some “unsettling” works lately (see another item on the list, “Confessions of the Mask”). I love being challenged by these books: they make me question my current views and that’s always fun. Hopefully Cement Garden doesn’t disappoint. I am a huge fan of McEwan and have pretty high hopes.

    As for Sherlock Holmes, I am on my way to reading the entire series (same goes for Agatha Christie’s Poirot) in order of publication. I really enjoy a good old-fashioned English mystery!

    Now your comment about Once and Future King makes me wonder. I have heard mixed reviews about the book, but I am very curious about it. I love Arthurian lore and T.H. White keeps popping up whenever I am looking for a book on the subject. I will still read this one for the challenge, but do you have any suggestions for a solid Arthurian fiction/non-fiction title I can look into?

  5. I read Neuromancer earlier this year, and while I liked it a lot, it was definitively weird. I think it was one of the weirdest books I’ve ever read, but I’ll let you judge for yourself, huh? 🙂 I’m looking forward to reading what you think of it.

  6. Thank you for stopping by, Amanda. I am very curious to see what Neuromancer is all about. I haven’t read much science fiction in my life, so this definitely will be an interesting experience. I mostly want to read it for its cultural significance, but hope to genuinely enjoy the ride. “Weird” sounds promising!

  7. I have joined Adam’s TBR challenge for the last 2 years and never managed to finish them. I have decided that I can’t sign up anymore TBR challenge this year! The Confession of the Mask is not as unsettling as The Temple of the Golden Pavilion but I enjoy it nevertheless. The next one I hope to read is Forbidden Colour. Now that I got my Kindle yesterday, I can avoid holding Forbidden Colour with its saucy cover! 😀

    If the time is right, I may join you in The Pillars of the Earth. I got a copy at home. All the best Andrea!

  8. I figured I’d join since I’m planning to get to these books sooner or later. This challenge gives me a nice incentive to finally get it together. If I don’t finish though, no big deal; there is always next year. I just noticed that quite a few books on my list are good chunksters, so I wonder how that would go. For Mishima’s works I am going back to his roots and starting to read his works from the beginning. I am super excited to get to know The Confessions of the Masks, especially because I tried out the first chapter of the book many years ago and remember liking it very much. I need to finish it this time. And I can totally relate to the awkward book cover situation. I am using my Kobo most of the time when reading out of the house, so now I have no problems with that.

    I hope you do decide to read The Pillars of the Earth as well. I watched the mini-series and I loved it. Hopefully, the book will be even better. I got my copy at a library sale for only a dollar. That was an amazing find.

Leave a Reply

