Reading Stats [March]

Book blogMarch was a slightly less productive month for me, compared to February, but I still finished a satisfying amount of books – six. Currently I am at twenty for the year of 2013 and I think it’s going very well. To put things in a perspective, last year I only read twenty four books in total, so being so close to passing that milestone only a quarter into the year makes me feel extremely pleased with myself. I attribute much of this success to my reading calendar, which I have talked of before, but at the same time I am proud to say that I do not take it as an ultimate authority. I allow myself to change plans midway through the week, or push something that I am just not in the mood for back a couple of weeks. In March I indulged myself with the following works:

Books finished [6/4]:

  • The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupery
  • Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury
  • Breakfast at Tiffany’s by Truman Capote
  • The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis
  • The Master and Margarita by Mikhail Bulgakov
  • The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

I am still many books behind in my blogging, which I do intend to fix within a few couple of weeks here. I finally read Fahrenheit 451, which was amazing, and Breakfast at Tiffany’s, which offered a surprising view of a character I thought I already knew. I also made some progress in the Narnia chronicles, after reading the last installment almost two years ago. I will talk in detail about the outcome of this reading when I do a post on it, but I just have to mention that The Lion was an underwhelming experience. In more exciting news, I finished Bulgakov’s famous masterpiece and I can finally take it off my “currently-reading” shelf. I am hoping to read more Russian classics this year, so let this be a good sign of future success.

Books in progress:

  • 1Q84 by Haruki Murakami [34%]
  • The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas [28%]
  • The Name of the Rose by Umberto Eco [61%]
  • A Storm of Swords by George R.R. Martin [11%]

I’m still on track with my Goodreads readalongs. This is probably the first time in history of this blog that I managed to participate in readalong and not fail miserably. Again, I thank my calendar and the amazing people in the “Reading the Chunksters” group for keeping me motivated! I am hoping to finish The Name of the Rose sometime this month and get back to Shogun for a while (I am really neglecting this wonderful book), since we are also having a buddy read for that. And last but not least, I just had to start the next book in The Song of Ice and Fire series, since the third season of Game of Thrones is starting TONIGHT! I am so excited!! I’ve heard that the third book is probably the best of them all, so I am hoping to really being blown away by this one.

Additions to the library: 

  • None

I haven’t bought any books this month, but it doesn’t mean I haven’t been tempted. I’ve been compiling a list of favorites that I would like to see on my shelf, and it is starting to look like a scroll of Homeric epic poetry. Like I mentioned in the previous monthly recap, I spent all my “fun” money on hockey tickets for my boyfriend. What can I say, it was his birthday, the game was amazing, and our home team won – all in all it was a great night. Oh, and then a midnight snack at Timmy’s… that was a cherry on top!

3 comments

  1. What did you think of The Master and the Margarita? That’s one I’ve been considering reading.

  2. This book is very complicated and multi-layered. I liked it, but cannot say that I loved it. I think I am just not experienced enough to really grasp all of its meaning. It has some great social commentary on early-ish Soviet Russia, interesting religion/atheism tension, and intelligent humor that made it very much an engaging read, but I should have slowed down a little while reading it. I also didn’t really like Margarita as a character, but I think it’s just me being weird. I found her a bit too pushy. To put it simply, I think Master and Margarita is a book worth reading, but it would help to know some cultural background to make the best of it.

  3. Thanks for your thoughts. I might lack the cultural background for it, though the themes certainly sound very interesting. I think I’ll let it sit on the list of possible reads for a while and see what happens.

    I hadn’t realized that Margarita was a character. I now feel very silly for my mis-writing of the title!

Leave a Reply

