Reading calendar [April 1, 2013]

I fell a little behind on my reading plans last week, so I had to catch up on the weekend. I think it happened because I got overly ambitious. You see, I really wanted to finish two short works on Friday and Saturday to bring my final count for the month to eight, but after starting A Storm of Swords on Monday I left myself little room for random spurts of laziness. In the end I just simply ran out of time to read anything new, and instead got stuck playing catch up with the old. But since I am on track yet again, I can get back to my beloved calendar. For this week I have planned:

  • 1Q84 (Book 2: Ch 1-3)
  • The Name of the Rose (Fourth Day: Nones – Night)
  • The Count of Monte Cristo (Ch 35-39)
  • A Storm of Swords (Ch 9 Bran – Ch 18 Samwell)

After taking a break from 1Q84 for a week, it is time to start book two. The first book didn’t resolve anything (on the contrary, the final chapters dropped numerous plot twists that pretty much made my brain explode with awesome), so I am very much looking forward to this week. I am also noticing that The Count’s chapters are getting progressively longer, while the plot is turning impressively multidimensional. Then there is also the fourth day to finish in The Name of the Rose and a 20% mark to hit in A Storm of Swords. If time permits I will have to squeeze in first seven short stories from The Coming of Conan the Cimmerian, which is almost due for a return to the library (I might have to renew instead).

I will also need one or two shorts to finish for my minimum “one book a week” goal. Here are some options I am considering, so it would be great to get some feedback from you guys!

reading calendar april 1 2013

The People that Time Forgot by Edgar Rice Burroughs, The Castle Otranto by Horace Walpole, The Painted Veil by W. Somerset Maugham, Carmilla by J. Sheridan Le Fanu

2 comments

  1. I like to see you read The Painted Veil. I have watched the movie but not read the book yet even though it’s on my shelf. Good luck with April!

  2. I am gravitating toward The Painted Veil too (I’ve already finished Carmilla earlier this week). The movie is one of my absolute favorites, so I have high hopes for the book. Just like yours, my copy has been sitting on the shelf for a while.

Leave a Reply

