Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Characters I Would Crush On If I Were Also A Fictional Character

toptentuesdaySomething tells me this one would be easier if I was reading romance or young adult genre. Who can I possibly crush on when I mostly read about deeply disturbed individuals? Not Yukio Mishima’s characters, that’s for sure! This fun and challenging meme is of course brought to you by the beautiful bloggers at The Broke and the Bookish, so go check them out. I might start participating more often now that some literary hunks are involved.

1. Jon Snow from The Song of Ice and Fire series by George R.R. Martin – I do have Kit Harrington and his sexy accent to blame for this. Maybe it’s meme cheating, but I am totally crushing on his portrayal of Jon Snow on TV. I decline to comment on the fact that the actual Jon from the books is significantly younger than his silver screen counterpart, and might be illegal for me to even consider a crush.

2. Fitzwilliam Darcy from Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen – okay, show me one blogger who will not include this guy in their list! I have this love/hate relationship with Mr. Darcy. On one hand he is pretty awesome and handsome, and honorable, and rich, and all that other crap women go for, but on the other hand he is such an unrealistic cliche, it’s not even funny. I resent the fact that Austen tries to convince her readers that men can be changed. Come on, if he is an ass from the very beginning, I doubt he’ll turn into a prince charming overnight just because you gave him a cold shoulder.

3. Athos from the Three Musketeers by Alexandre Dumas – I love the fact that he has a tragic love story behind him. I love the fact that he had loved a woman so much that her betrayal made him fearful of all female sex for life. Athos is also a great leader, a reliable friend, and insanely funny in his own stoic, serious way. As a warning, he might have some drinking and gambling problems.

4. Horatio Hornblower from the Hornblower Saga series by C.S. Forester – Horatio is super-awkward with women and has an incredibly low self-esteem. I will probably crush on him purely from the fact that he is so adorkably cute.

5. Westley from The Princess Bride by William Goldman – Westley was my childhood crush and still is, because who doesn’t like a man that believes in true love? Think about it ladies: swashbuckling pirate on a quest to save his one true love who is being forced to marry an evil prince, kidnapped and almost assassinated, all in that order. In the process he defeats a fencing virtuoso’s sword, a giant’s strength, a Sicilian’s cunning, the deadly traps of a Fire Swamp, and even death itself in an unforgettable adventure in the name of true love. Sigh.

6. Augustus McCrae from Lonesome Dove by Larry McMurtry – the older man type strikes again, haha! Gus is very funny and has some intelligent conversations, which is the first thing that draws you to him. Then, in a moment’s flash he transforms into this badass gunslinger, and you know that somehow, even if there is an army against one, he’s going to be just fine. He is also pretty great for loving one woman his whole life, and not objectifying the pretty girl.

7. Gale Hawthorne from The Hunger Games series by Suzanne Collins – the embarrassing truth comes out. But since Gale never really got featured much in the first two books of the series I again blame the hunkiness of the actor portraying the character – Liam Hemsworth! I came to have a crush on Gale in a weird chain of events. First I really loved Liam’s small part in Expendables 2 movie (love action, don’t judge), then got a brief crush on Liam himself, and only then I began noticing Gale. At any rate, I’ll take him over that whiny Peeta guy any day.

8. Khal Drogo from The Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin – this awesome guy is only featured in the first book of A Song of Ice and Fire series, but I wish he was there in every one of them. Drogo is supposed to be this vicious, savage horse-lord, but grows to be gentle husband and tender lover to his wife. He still rips entrails from his enemies with his bare hands, but at the same time values his wife’s advice and puts her first before tradition.

That’s it, I ran out of characters to crush on. I had to include even the characters I only kinda-sorta-like to get this far. I need to read more books, and then get a final opinion. As a bonus to redeem myself, here’s the character I would never crush on:

Jay Gatsby from The Great Gatsby by Scott F. Fitzgerald – because he is a stalkish creeper hiding in your closet and stealing panties from your laundry basket!

3 comments

  1. Interesting pick in Drogo, but I can see the appeal 😀 As for Jon Snow, I don’t like him anymore, he annoys me. 😛

    My TTT

  2. I love that you have variety (and adult character on your list). I didn’t think to include Gus, but I can see the appeal. I love Jon Snow (Tyrion made my list), it has nothing to do with Kit Harrington, of course.

    Mr. Darcy is always a solid choice.

  3. Hi Ula! I was surprised by Drogo too. He just sort of popped up in my head, and I was like, Heeeeey…. I am a bit annoyed by Jon from the second book, but he was great in the first one. Hopefully he redeems himself in A Storm of Swords.

    Welcome, Rory! Tyrion is awesome, good choice! Gus was an odd one, I admit, but there is something about him that makes me giggle like a girly girl… 🙂

Leave a Reply

