Reading calendar [April 8, 2013]

Last week was super busy. I spent a lot of my free time studying languages, which was long overdue. I took a bit of a break from studying over the winter and now I am paying for it with a partial memory loss. There are few new techniques and supplements I picked up while doing research on positive learning habits, so maybe this time I will be a little less frustrated. Oh, who am I kidding, I know I will be frustrated! 🙂 Naturally, a few days last week were free of any leisurely reading, and I ended up a bit behind on my calendar. I was planning to make up for it during the weekend, but our puppy had to be taken to the spay clinic on Saturday, and taking care of her afterwards pretty much tied up my whole weekend. Sunday morning, however, I finished The Painted Veil, and it was amazing! As for the rest of it, there are a few chapters I am behind on, but that doesn’t bother me much. I should be able to get on track right away. This week I am planning to read the following:

  • 1Q84 (Book 2: Ch 4-7)
  • The Name of the Rose (Fifth Day: Prime – Sext)
  • The Count of Monte Cristo (Ch 37-45)
  • A Storm of Swords (Ch 15 Jon – Ch 26 Jon)

I am getting a bit bored with The Count of Monte Cristo. I think Franz is ridiculously boring character to follow. Also, Dantes is beginning to think he’s some kind of god for being so rich, and it’s annoying. I can’t wait till they finally leave Italy behind them and action picks up. It took me almost three days to finish chapter 36, because I just couldn’t get into it. I could probably finish The Name of the Rose in one good sitting, if time permitted, but with so many books on the go I really don’t want to fall behind my friends at Goodreads. A Storm of Swords is getting soooo good, I am practically sitting on pins and needles whenever I read it. I didn’t read a page of The Coming of Conan the Cimmerian, so I just renewed it from the library instead of returning it. I still want to finish it before my purchase request for the sequel goes through.

Also, is anybody else excited about Jurassic Park returning to theaters? As it is the case with many other kids, I was obsessed with dinosaurs at an early age, and this movie became a very personal favorite of mine. I read the book around ten years ago, and besides a few brief scenes don’t remember much at all. To celebrate the revival of the classic on the big screen, I am going to read Michael Crichton’s Jurassic Park once more and get a little lost in my childhood memories.

Jurassic Park

Leave a Reply

