Reading calendar [April 15, 2013]

I’ve taken a bit of a breather last week, focusing instead on language studies. After some research, I found several new sources that proved to be really beneficial for independent learning. Seeing progress really motivates me, and things that used to discourage me are a problem no more.  So naturally I fell behind on books, which is again not a big deal. To look at the brighter side, I still finished Jurassic Park by Michael Crichton, which I wanted to do in honor of the movie being re-released in theaters. The longer works that were scheduled to be read, however, ended up being left behind. This week I want to switch up the strategy a bit and get some things finally wrapped up. Nothing encourages me more than turning the last page and soaking in the contents as a whole.

So my plan for this week is to finish The Name of the Rose by Umberto Eco and not to worry about the rest. I have about 150 pages left, which is really nothing. On a side note, I remember the times when a hundred pages was a lot to go through and a three hundred pager of a book took me months to complete. Gone are the naive days of my reader’s youth. These books are mere pebbles compared to some boulders worth a thousand pages I’ve encountered this year! Once I finish The Name I can dedicate some free time to catching up to other books. It would also be nice to read another book or two of The Iliad, but I am not going to promise anything. I see a lot more language study in the near future, though.

the name of the rose

3 comments

  1. I really like this movie! Too bad I was too young to read the book before watching it, but it’s definitively in my TBR pile! I’m looking forward to hear your opinion of it.

  2. I kind of regret not reading it in one go, instead breaking it up in parts in order to read something else at the same time. I think it’s one of those books that require undivided attention. The Name of the Rose is scrumptious and complicated – a great work of art that needs to be appreciated from every angle. And just like with any work of art, the reader needs to come back to it again and again in order to discover new meanings and interpretations. I have a feeling this first reading won’t be enough to fully satisfy my curiosity or offer a complete insight into the author’s psyche.

  3. What I remember of the story was really complicated, with many layers and mysteries. I think I’ll leave it to when I have more time then, and it can get my undivided attention. But I’m still looking forward to it, it sounds just like the kind of book I’d like.

Leave a Reply

