Top Ten Tuesday: Rewind: Most Dislikable Characters

toptentuesdayThis week is a rewind week at Top Ten Tuesday, which means I got a chance to go back to previous topics and choose as my heart desires! Naturally I chose to list the most annoying and despicable characters that made me either growl in resentment or commit a sacrilege of throwing a book across the room. I would like to thanks all of these failed heroes and ingenious villains for making the list possible. This fun and challenging meme is of course brought to you by the beautiful bloggers at The Broke and the Bookish, so go check them out.

1. Laura Fairlie (The Woman in White). I’ve already explained my acute dislike of this dimwitted little porcelain doll in my post earlier this year. I just hate her.
2. Lex (Jurassic Park). Is it bad of me to wish a seven-year-old girl to be eaten by a dinosaur? I dare you to read the book and try to think differently.
3. Joffrey Baratheon (The Game of Thrones, etc.). I just wanted to get another opportunity to mention what a little piece of **** he is. Thanks, that is all.
4. Katniss Everdeen (The Hunger Games, etc.). I loved Katniss in the first book, but she became progressively whinier as the story unfolded. In the last installment she is nothing, but a slimy ball of self-loathing.
5. Arturo the Aquaboy (Geek Love). The world hasn’t seen the sickest villain than this guy (Joffrey is getting pretty close). How else do you react to a guy that starts a cult where members must amputate their own limbs and be happy about it?
6. Mary Boleyn (The Other Boleyn Girl). Poor little Mary. All she wanted was to live in the country and work in the field, and this darn king kept trying to make a baby with her! Oh and that evil, scheming sister of hers put her dreams of poverty in jeopardy! The humanity!!
7. Blue Duck (The Lonesome Dove). I was so mad at this guy, I had to complain about it to everyone around me. Ask anybody who knows me, who Blue Duck is, and they’ll just shake their head in surrender. He’s another murderer, rapist, slaver, and general trash of a human being. McMurtry did a great job convincing me in his character’s villainy.
8. Victor Frankenstein (Frankenstein). Victor not only misuses science to satisfy his perverse curiosity, but he also abandons the creature he creates and feels righteous for doing it. On top of that his family and friends end up paying for his inability to take responsibility with their lives.
9. Jean-Baptiste Grenouille (Perfume: The Story of a Murderer). Grenouille, just like his name suggests, is a slimy, little creature with a twisted mind. He is evil, but in a back-stabbing, cowardice way. His obsession with the scent of young women is super creepy.
10. Leader (The Sailor Who Fell from Grace with the Sea). What can be more disturbing and menacing that a child with a malicious, cold, calculating mind? Perhaps a situation where he has a faithful following and a desire to see what humans are made of on the inside?

Leave a Reply

