Reading Stats [April]

3856396957_72c01639f4_bApril saw me surpassing my 2012 book total. I officially hit twenty six books, compared to twenty four read last year. I’m not sure if I should be proud of my recent accomplishment or ashamed of my poor reading past. As in March I finished six books, which is pretty good by my standards. This past week I could totally read at least one more book, but I was too busy catching up on the third installment of A Song of Ice and Fire series, so I decided to forgo pushing myself for higher numbers. After all, reading is not about number of books you can down in a certain period of time. It’s more about the digestive process, rather than blind satisfaction of hunger. What really pressures me though is the sheer amount of titles on my TBR  (over 450 now, and that excludes sequels). There are just too many good books I want to taste, and not enough of years in one’s life. Hopefully May will be more productive.

Books finished [6/4]:

  • Carmilla by Joseph Sheridan Le Fanu
  • The Painted Veil by W. Somerset Maugham
  • Jurassic Park by Michael Crichton
  • The Name of the Rose by Umberto Eco
  • House and Philosophy: Everybody Lies by Henry Jacoby (Ed.)
  • Psycho by Robert Bloch

I’m pretty happy with the books I read this month. I actually enjoyed the majority of them more than I thought I would. Carmilla and Psycho were both interesting representatives of horror from different eras that managed to appeal to me equally (five star rating, baby!). I knocked down another persistent book off of my “currently-reading” shelf – House and Philosophy. Did it take me almost two years to finally put it to rest? Yes, I know, it sounds crazy. Finally, it felt really gratifying to close the chunky and thought-provoking classic by Eco. I am looking forward to exploring his bibliography further.

Books in progress:

  • 1Q84 by Haruki Murakami [48%]
  • The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas [28%]
  • A Storm of Swords by George R.R. Martin [35%]
  • The Coming of Conan the Cimmerian by Robert E. Howard [37%]

Still a bit behind on Murakami and Dumas, but hopefully I’ll be able to get on track again right away. Like I mentioned in my weekly schedule post, I am mostly focusing on library books at the moment, so I have no time to read anything else. 1Q84 is getting hard to resist though, with all the assassination plots and stuff happening! I am pleasantly surprised how much I enjoy Conan short stories. By no means they feel cliched or dated. Writing is superb, and besides some overuse of a few words like “starlight” when it comes to gems and “ripe corn” when describing people dying, this turns out to be a very enjoyable collection.

Additions to the library: 

  • Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass
  • The Adventures of Robinson Crusoe
  • The Once and Future King
  • The Mists of Avalon
  • The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

This seems like a big list f purchases, but I got all of these with ridiculous discounts. Alice and Robinson Crusoe were only $5 each at my local bookstore, and others were in the range of $2.99-$4.99. There is also going to be a library sale this week, which I am hoping to catch, so I might be coming home with piles upon piles of new (cheap!) acquisitions right away. I love library sales.

5 comments

  1. David Richards · ·

    Sounds like an enjoyable collection of reading. I agree that the quality taking-in of books, depends more on digestion, and less on number. A good thought.

  2. Thank you, I am looking forward to May for some more satisfying books!

  3. I thought it’s an amazing month Andrea. Hang in there with 1Q84. 😉

  4. You had a good month! I love your choices in books. I have The Name of the Rose to read for the classics club and I loved The Count of Monte Cristo !

  5. Thank you kindly! I am so behind on The Count right now, but I am not putting him aside for good. I fully intend to finish it as planned! I am liking it so far, but got stuck just a little. 🙂

Leave a Reply

