Reading calendar [May 13, 2013]

I just never felt like posting last week. Does it ever happen to you? Nowadays days seem to fly by at exceptionally high rate. I woke up this morning and was actually pretty shocked to find myself in the middle of May already. This is madness! So you know how it happens: you sit there and keep telling yourself to get your act together and post something, but procrastination kicks in and convinces you to leave important things till tomorrow, and the next thing you know it’s time to retire and move to Palm Springs. Basically this is the case for me. I was pretty diligent about my language studies though, and I spent an adequate amount of time reading. I finished Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets the other day and the second book of 1Q84 last weekend. May isn’t going as productive as I hoped, but I still have a couple of weeks to fix that.

For this week I am planning to settle in with A Storm of Swords and fly through the 300-400 pages that I am behind on. To be honest, the number scares me a bit, but then I have to remind myself that this is George R. R. Martin we are talking about, and there can never be too much of his writing (quite the opposite actually). I’m not sure if I’ll have enough time to devote myself to anything short just to bring my weekly count up to par, but I know I want to continue with Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell. Maybe if I continue to be industrious in my reading, I will be able to finish two heavy-weights this month… maybe, we’ll just have to live and see, right?

I know my page goals and book counts might look crazy to some people (after all, it does to my mom), but this kind of organization really helps me as a reader. I am prone to procrastination and short attention spans, so setting short-term goals is essential for me to feel accomplished and motivated. I love reading and all, but sometimes I have so many other interests that a little motivation can really push me in the right direction. I want to make a significant dent in my TBR pile, and I want to finally get to all those wonderful books I always told myself I should get to. Maybe I sound crazy, but my new approach already helped me to surpass my first goal for this year – read more books than the year before. This month perhaps I will even achieve my next step, of which I will tell you in my monthly review. Have a good week, my lovelies!

a storm of swords

 

2 comments

  1. I’ll just leave this here: http://24.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_m9rftcMTRa1r2roevo1_400.jpg

    It’s my favorite thing to come out of Games of Thrones and I now call my dogs “the durguns.”

  2. Thumbs up! That is quite a true representation of the Mother of Dragons!

Leave a Reply

