Reading calendar [May 21, 2013]

Yesterday was Victoria Day – and a concluding day to an awesome long weekend, – so today is my official first day of “back to work”. Hence my late post. I am probably scaring the remaining few readers who used to follow my blog with the lack of any book reviews, but I have to note yet again that Tasseled Book Blog is my reading journal, not a review site, so please do forgive me if I bore you senseless. This past weekend I spent indulging in a lot of reading! If I hadn’t fallen asleep on Friday at 7pm after an exhausting week at work, I would probably have finished something, but instead I made good dents in many chunksters that are currently keeping me hostage.

First of all I flew through about a quarter of Stephen King’s It. The book both engrosses and terrifies the socks off me! I am actually changing my usual skeptic approach to King’s writing and slowly becoming a fan. And how many decades did that take? I know, I have no excuse for treating him this way. The book has an enormous number of main characters (well, only about six I believe, so not that enormous), and the author goes in a very great detail about their childhoods and life after It, but I’m managing to keep them straight in my head thanks to King’s ability to really flesh out each and one of them. I find that the author has a special talent to look inside the reader’s head and dig out the darkest personal fears that shake your very core. Suddenly, you’re a kid again, standing on top of the basement staircase, creeping into darkness, expecting a horrific something to grab you by the hand and pull you inside. Forgot how to nervously peer at the closet, waiting for a terrible monster to burst out? Well, King will remind you how to be afraid. Once again you’ll check under your bed before retiring for the night. Ah, I love this book so much!

On Sunday I devoted much of my time to A Storm of Swords, like I promised in my previous post. Be still, my heart, and try to not implode on itself! What an emotional reading session I had! The action picked up and two major characters lost their lives in a dramatic turn of events. Now I know why so many fans of Martin tend to throw their books across the room and wail “whyyyyy?!”, and then retrieve it off the floor and crawl in the corner, quietly sobbing and clutching the book to their chests. That was me. I haven’t had the same reaction since the first book. I cannot believe Martin would do something like that! Wait, no, I totally believe it and I was warned multiple times, but the pain is soooo good, I just keep coming back! Literary masochism, terminal case. I am supposed to finish the book this week according to my calendar, so I will press on and hopefully do that (and cry some more).

In other minor news, I’ve been slowly plowing through Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrel. I’m waiting for the book to grip me a little more, because sometimes I feel like I’m forcing myself through it. Since so many people have praised it, I’m hoping it will pick up soon and blow me away. Does anyone have any encouraging comments? Also, because reading so many books at once has always been a norm, I am halfway through On a Pale Horse by Piers Anthony. It’s a bit too chewy in the center, especially considering the excitement of the opening chapters, but I am not losing hope. This is one of the most imaginative fantasy books I’ve ever read, even if it has some faults. The book is due next week in the library, and I don’t feel like renewing it, so I would love to finish it this week as well. That’s it for now, me thinks.

foxtrotImage source

2 comments

  1. Hello, I’ve nominated you for the Liebster Award! Congratulations :).

    The guidelines are up on my page: http://thecatthatwalksbyherself.wordpress.com/2013/06/29/liebster-award/

    I hope you’re able to participate! Congratulations again! 🙂

  2. Greetings! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering which blog platform are you
    using for this website? I’m getting fed up of WordPress because I’ve had issues with hackers and I’m looking at options for another platform.
    I would be awesome if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

Leave a Reply

