Reading calendar [August 12, 2013]

Is summer almost over already? Well, that’s depressing. I live in Canada, eh, so it might start snowing any day now. On a brighter note, I love prepping for fall-time reading. Usually I settle down with something historical and bitter cold, like stories of vikings, moors, mists, and high seas. Should I explore the much longed-for Bernard Cornwell and his exciting tales of medieval warriors? Perhaps I should catch up on my TBR 2013 challenge and visit the white Albion in The Mists of Avalon or the sight of a magnificent cathedral in Pillars of the Earth? No doubt I must get to a classic ghost story and a Russian masterpiece or two. And not to forget my favorite Scandinavian authors, whose endless talents I recently discovered…

But enough about the distant future – I’d rather look at what this week has in store for me in the light of last week’s successes. My August has been quite productive so far. My first week I dedicated to the first book in Stephen King’s wildly popular The Dark Tower series. I’m glad to have read the introduction before the novel itself, because King warns that Gunslinger might be a bit of an underwhelming kick-starter, but implores the reader to continue to book two, where he promises things to pick up. I have to agree that while Gunslinger was inventive and weird (in Lovecraftian sense of the word) it was nevertheless dragging its shoes a bit in places. Still, I have faith in Steve, so I’ll be borrowing The Drawing of the Three soon enough.

Last week I breezed through two more books. My first choice was the famous Fight Club by Chuck Palahniuk, which was a complete novelty to me given the fact that I’ve never seen the movie adaptation with Brad Pitt. I must admit I really enjoyed the twist in the end. Someone once told me that relationship between narrator and Tyler is exactly what would exist between Calvin and Hobbes if they ever grew up into adulthood. That’s kind of a neat thought. Another weird fact I drew from my experience with Fight Club is that I sometimes confuse Chuck Palahniuk with Kurt Vonnegut and I’m not sure why. Similar writing styles? Weird narrators?

My second book for last week shouldn’t be a surprise to anyone who has read the last couple of my posts. In honor of the Shark Week I swam with Jaws by Peter Benchley. *Homer Simpson voice* Woohoo! It’s everything I remember from my teen years and actually more. I have mixed feelings about the novel as a whole, because I loved the action parts, was weirded out by desperate housewife act and got dumbfounded by the most abrupt ending in history of endings! What did I just read?! But the shark was still very cool. I can’t wait for next year’s Shark Week to bust out some trashy deep sea monster thriller once again.

book blog reading

Now what is happening this week? Well, there are a lot of group reads I would like to participate in starting right about now. Our Reading the Chunksters group just started Gone with the Wind, which I am so incredibly happy about. It has literally been on my TBR shelf, bought and ready to go, for at least five years. That book should take me well into December. Next, after we are done with Ovid’s Metamorphoses, our Western Canon group will dive into a rather quick read of War & Peace, which I am seriously considering. My only concern is the number of books I am reading at the moment that might prevent me from keeping up with the discussion. Past weekend I also started The Fortune of the Rougons by Emile Zola for the extensive Rougon-Macquart project at The Readers Review that will slowly take us through all twenty books. Speaking of which, I am really enjoying it so far, which comes to me as a surprise since I had a hard time sticking with Nana. I will have to put aside Oxygen by Nick Lane for now, because it has to go back to the library today, but I will be picking up my second non-fiction by Neil Shubin titled The Universe Within which I am super excited about. I loved his writing style in Your Inner Fish – not too techy, but very informative! And that should wrap up my eclectic choices of the week.

I think that is everything for now, but you know me – something unexpected will probably sneak up, putting all my plans upside-down. I love unpredictability of books.

2 comments

  1. I’m glad you’re having a productive August! I hope you enjoy Gone with the Wind. It’s one of my favourite books – I first read it when I was about sixteen and have re-read it several times since then. I’m also in the middle of a group read of War and Peace, but have fallen behind with the schedule. I’m hoping I can catch up before the end of the month!

  2. A trashy deep sea creature thriller? Sounds interesting! Summer’s been good here in Canada … though I’m looking forward to cooler temperatures. 🙂

Leave a Reply

