Reading journal [December 16, 2013]

reading journal

I’m kind of in reading slump right now. There are a ton of opened books around me, but none of them really capture my attention. This past weekend I was planning to kick my lazy streak to the curb by finishing Whose Body by Dorothy L. Sayers and maybe making a significant dent in Terry Pratchett’s The Colour of Magic. But neither one of those plans realized themselves, because I just couldn’t concentrate on the story. Sometimes I go through phases when I read like a madwoman, sitting in my cave for days without human contact, gulping one book after another; and sometimes I just plant myself in front of the TV and binge on old Columbo movies. That’s what I did last weekend too.

My random lack of interest in reading, however, never affects my tendency to impulsively order books when browsing the library’s website (which happens almost daily). If I see something I’ve been meaning to read for a while, I just put it on hold. As you might have guessed the voice of reasoning that keeps whispering about the perpetual lack of time is usually brushed aside in these cases. Don’t ask me how, and for what crazy reason, but I have exactly six books checked out from the library at the moment (that’s on top of my own books ). And you know those people who insist on seeing things through to the end even when the book is really not their cup of tea (that’s me)? Well, some of them also have a hard time returning said books to the library without turning the last page first (that’s me too). It literally pains me to go back to my local branch and, coming up to the gaping return slot of shame, letting a good book go without giving it a proper chance. What happened, I ask myself, I totally had all intentions to read this one!

My due date schedule looks like this (so far at least):

12/17 Sharpe’s Tiger by Bernard Cornwell [RB]
12/17 Locke & Key [Book 1] by Joe Hill [RB]
12/31 For Whom the Bell Tolls by Ernest Hemingway [RB]
01/02 The Color of Magic by Terry Pratchett [NR]
01/02 Don Quixote by Miguel de Cervantes [NR]
01/02 Other People’s Baggage by Kendell Lynn et al. [NR]

[RB] – refers to renewable items
[NR] – non-renewable items

Thankfully I have a great job where I get a Christmas break for two weeks, so I am planning to do some heavy duty reading at the end of December if the holiday madness allows me to. I’ve been very slack with reading for the last two weeks and really only finished one book in all of December so far (usually I’m at around five by the middle of the month). So this week I’ll be focusing on finishing off those library books as well as catching up on in-progress ebooks I have happening on my Kobo.

Sometime this week I should be able to complete Whose Body and get to the half-point of Hemingway’s For Whom the Bell Tolls. There are also a couple more challenges I would like to post about and perhaps announce my new War & Peace project. Please check back soon and don’t forget to leave comments!

7 comments

  1. I was reading your post and thought, “Wow, that is me!” Do you want to know how many books I have out from the library at the moment? Probably about 30. And I won’t get to most of them. All these recommendations pop up on my science groups on Goodreads and I can’t resist checking them out to have a look. I keep thinking I should leave it alone but usually my daughter ends up reading 2-3 so I figure the angst is worth it.

    Like you, I have about 10 days I can devote to reading time over Christmas, and I’m looking forward to it!

  2. Thirty books?! Oh my, my bookish OCD would go crazy! 🙂 I’m certainly glad I’m not alone though. I do blame Goodreads this year for making me so hungry for new books; all those recommendations and new discoveries make me a happy camper. Good luck with Christmas break and lets hope both of us can get some down time to just sit and read.

  3. War and Peace project, hmm? Interesting… (spill the beans, lady!)

    I’m exactly like this. I’m either binge reading or I can’t find a single book around me that captures my attention. But I’m so fickle with it. I was in a massive slump last night, but then today I was back on the horse. It’s so random, I find. Weirdly, reading other people’s blogs totally re-energizes me.

    Total non-sequiter: holy hell you’re brave for giving Proust a go in 2014!

  4. Hehe, so you saw that, didn’t you? Yes Rick, I am totally insane and that’s how I roll! I figured I needed more unachievable goals in life, so why not add Proust to the mix? I will probably end up throwing the guy across the room, but I will never know unless I try.

    I will totally make a post for War and Peace soon, I promise! Oh the anticipation… Have you read it before?

    Congrats on getting back in the groove. I’m going to catch up to you one of these days. I think the holidays are just pulling me in all kinds of directions at the moment, leaving no desire to read during downtime. Can’t wait for my Christmas break! I’m going to follow your advice and binge on other people’s successes to lift my own spirits!

  5. I haven’t read War and Peace, no. But it’s been on my TBR list (and Classics Club list) for a while. Always wanted to read it, never could give myself the push. Maybe you can!

  6. Oh mercy, I return books unread to the library all the time. It troubles me not at all. Sometimes you get a book thinking it’s what you want, and then you find you’re not in the mood for it after all. I think that’s okay! The book can stay on your TBR list and you can try again another time. Better that, I always think to myself, than forcing myself to read it at the wrong time and ending up resenting it.

  7. I still have to work on that attitude. One day I will get over my fear of unfinished books… until then, however, I am trapped.

Leave a Reply

