29 comments

  1. That is a super-fun list! I especially approve of the DWJ pick. Day of the Triffids is neat too–you could read it in January for vintage SF month, you know….

  2. I was totally going to join you for SF January, Jean! That’s a deal.

  3. I like your list! Is Dorothy Dunnett a good writer? I see her mentioned reasonably regularly.

    Have you read The Inferno or are you skipping straight to Purgatorio?

    I’m glad to see that you’re trying again in spite of your experience in 2013. You have all of us to cheer you on, so you should get through. I’m nervous about my list but I’m going to focus and hopefully make it to the end!

    Best of luck!

  4. Thank you Cleo, you’re really inspiring me to both read and blog with your cheer!

    I’m not sure about Dunnett as a writer, because I’ve never read anything of hers. But I’ve seen so many bloggers I truly respect raving about her Lymond Chronicles and The House of Niccolo series! I simply must try it out myself. For the most part of last two years I’ve been going back and forth about starting The Game of Kings (first book of Lymond), so it seems only appropriate to add it to my TBR challenge.

    I did read The Inferno this year, so Purgatorio is next for me. I might flip through Inferno again to refresh my memory during the readalong happening at Goodreads (I’m joining in for The Decameron too). I have heard that many people end up abandoning The Divine Comedy after the first book, so I want to make sure I push myself not to fall into the same trap.

    You do have several very scary books on your own list, so I applaud you for that. I am sure we can both make it, it’s just that it’s so hard too resist other books sometimes! Lets work hard and show this TBR pile who’s the boss here!

  5. The Inferno is definitely more interesting than the other two books. A catalogue of sins and popes with their heads buried in the sand ……. what could beat that?! Purgatory was a little challenging to get my head around (not being Catholic) but it was interesting in a different way and Paradise was different as well.

    I like your attitude, girl! If we all inspire each other we’ll get it done!

  6. I found that Inferno was a relatively quick read for me. “Relatively” because I still had to concentrate a lot to understand what I was reading, but I finished the entire thing in two sittings. I did follow a system where I would read each of the cantos quickly first, then go through the appropriate commentary section for background info, and then re-read each part with more thought. It took a little time, but it really helped me to understand the poem better. I will do the same thing for Purgatorio, and hopefully stay on track with everyone else.

    Thank you for you kind words, Cleo!

  7. I might try this–if I can find enough books. 🙂

    Good luck to you!

  8. Thank you! Maybe you could set your own goal? Even if it’s something like, I’ve always wanted to read Romeo & Juliet, so this year I should do it! I think the number doesn’t matter, but crossing off a book that’s been on your tbr forever is surely rewarding! Hope you will join us!

  9. I have a lot of books on my TBR list–more than 200. But my oldest TBR list got lost–after I had transferred some of it to my computer, which makes it hard to tell how long a book has been on the list.

    I might just best-guess it. 🙂

  10. I also failed last year. Here it to both of us doing better! You have a pretty great list. To Kill a Mockingbird is my favorite book of all time! And good luck with A Feast for Crows….

  11. I have heard that a significant percentage of people never finish this one, which makes me even more eager to tackle it. With my list I gave myself a good variety in terms of length and challenge, so hopefully I can finish it all. I am actually looking forward to A Feast for Crows! I know lots of readers were disappointed with this one, since most fan-favourite characters do not make an appearance, but I have hope!

  12. […] this TBR Pile challenge (from Roof Beam Reader) at Tasseled Book Blog, and thought–why not? I have a small stack of books I’ve purchased, waiting unread on a […]

  13. So, I made a list and posted it… but I’m not sure what link I’m supposed to be using to sign up. Help?

  14. Hi Caitlin! To sign up for the challenge please go to here , read through the post about conditions, then click on Mr. Linky at the end of the post and enter your name as required! Do let me know if you need something else.

  15. […] of the stack of unread books (currently) sitting on my bookshelves. To this end, I have joined a TBR pile challenge that will account for 5 of the 11. It was 15 last August, and I read 8, but then I added more. This […]

  16. […] Pile challenge (from Roof Beam Reader), found at Tasseled Book Blog. It’s time to get through that stack of unread […]

  17. […] Day of the Triffids is an alternate title on my 2014 TBR Challenge list, but I have also read it for a Vintage Sci-Fi Month, hosted by Redhead at The Little Red Reviewer. […]

  18. […] Pile challenge (from Roof Beam Reader), found at Tasseled Book Blog. It’s time to get through that stack of unread […]

  19. […] Pile challenge (from Roof Beam Reader), found at Tasseled Book Blog. It’s time to get through that stack of unread […]

  20. […] Pile challenge (from Roof Beam Reader), found at Tasseled Book Blog. It’s time to get through that stack of unread […]

  21. […] Pile challenge (from Roof Beam Reader), found at Tasseled Book Blog. It’s time to get through that stack of unread […]

  22. […] Pile challenge (from Roof Beam Reader), found at Tasseled Book Blog. It’s time to get through that stack of unread […]

  23. […] Pile challenge (from Roof Beam Reader), found at Tasseled Book Blog. It’s time to get through that stack of unread […]

  24. […] Pile challenge (from Roof Beam Reader), found at Tasseled Book Blog. It’s time to get through that stack of unread […]

  25. […] Pile challenge (from Roof Beam Reader), found at Tasseled Book Blog. It’s time to get through that stack of unread […]

  26. […] “The Goal: To finally read 12 books from your “to be read” pile (within 12 months)” http://tasseledbooks.com/2013/12/17/2014-tbr-pile-challenge/ Hosted by […]

  27. […] Pile challenge (from Roof Beam Reader), found at Tasseled Book Blog. It’s time to get through that stack of unread […]

  28. […] Pile challenge (from Roof Beam Reader), found at Tasseled Book Blog. It’s time to get through that stack of unread […]

  29. […] Pile challenge (from Roof Beam Reader), found at Tasseled Book Blog. It’s time to get through that stack of unread […]

Leave a Reply

