Library Sale Loot [February] + Giveaway

I’m so very excited for today’s post! Yesterday I visited a local library sale and scored some really great books. I have to say this one was one of the most successful sales for me yet. But enough with introductions, because I cannot wait to how you what I brought home with me. Grab a coffee; it’s going to be a long one.

photo(2)

1. First of all, Stephen King! If you’ve seen some of my previous posts on thrift store and library sale hunts, you might remember how much energy I put into finding King’s The Stand and It for a good price. I did find It last year, but The Stand kept eluding me for, what it seemed, forever . But this time upon arriving to the library I darted to the fantasy and science fiction table first, and was rewarded with a copy of my own. I felt like doing a little jig right there. Also, I snatched a copy of Under the Dome, since a book club of mine is doing a read of that. There were quite a few of those available this time (probably thanks to the TV show), both in hardcover and paperback.

2. The First Man in Rome by Colleen McCullough. Confession time: I do have the paperback version of this book, but I couldn’t pass by the beautiful, vintage hardback. I will probably read this one and pass it along to my mom, while keeping the paperback on my own bookshelf.

3. Captain from Castile & Prince of Foxes by Samuel Shellabarger. I already have an excellent old copy of Captain from Castile that I purchased at Value Village last year, but I’ve heard that Prince of Foxes is even better, so I decided to add this omnibus to my collection as well. Besides, I love how it would add pizzazz to my shelf of vintage books.

4. Here Be Dragons by Sharon Kay Penman. This is actually part of my 2014 TBR challenge! I thought I would have to check it out from the library, but having my own copy to read without the 3 week limit is even better. I hope I’ll be able to find the sequels someday too.

5. Outlander by Diana Gabaldon. Okay, I wasn’t sure about this one. On one hand I am super curious to read some Scottish historical fiction. On the other hand I am terrified this will turn out to be too chick-lit for my liking. But for a dollar price tag I thought I wouldn’t lose too much sleep if I end up hating it.

6. The Complete Fairy Tales by George MacDonald. I have no idea what I purchased here, but it is a Penguin classic and it’s fairy tales. Goodreads has a pretty good rating of this book as well, as it turned out. If all of that isn’t enough to grant this book a chance, I don’t know what is.

7. My Antonia by Willa Cather. I can name several book bloggers that absolutely love this book. In fact, last year I felt like it was the most talked of classic among the people I follow. I think it’s about time I check it out too.

8. The First Men in the Moon by H. G. Wells. I haven’t read this classic novel of Wells just yet and that is pretty much the only reason I bought it.

9. Emma by Jane Austen. How fortunate for me to find Emma at this time, because it is the exact novel of Austen I wanted to read next. With this acquisition I only have to find Mansfield Park to complete my collection. I love being able to gather a series from different sources; this way each book carries a story behind it.  Wonderful concept, isn’t it?

10. Little Dorrit by Charles Dickens. Yet another Dickens I don’t own. So far I have about five or six books of his in total, but I am struggling to find The Tale of Two Cities – the novel that holds primary spot on my Dickens wishlist.

11. Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier. I couldn’t remember if I already owned this book or not, but I figured missing out on it would be worse than having a duplicate. Turned out I didn’t have it just yet, so luck was on my side.

12. Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien. LotR is yet another double I purchased yesterday. You see, I have this nice hardback omnibus of all three books that I absolutely hate lugging around. I think having a lighter paperback that I am not worried beating up a bit would be a good solution to that problem. I seriously need to get to the Two Towers asap and this bad boy should help me out. And when it comes to The Hobbit, I actually do not own a copy, so that was a good opportunity to snag one for cheap.

Thought you were done? Think again. Yes, I almost ripped my arms out trying to bring everything home on the train, but that’s labour of love, is it not?

photo(3)

13. The Eye of the World, The Great Hunt, and The shadow Rising by Robert Jordan. These are books one, two and four respectively from Jordan’s The Wheel of Time series. This book sale is probably the first one ever when I considered buying mass market paperbacks. I hate those things generally. But I figured that reading chunky fantasy on the go, while not being sure if I’d eventually keep them, and sticking to hardcovers all at the same time, might not be the most practical choice. I have heard great things about this series, but I have also heard that it becomes tedious somewhere by book seven or eight, so my decision is not as surprising to me as it should be.

14. The Way of Shadows by Brent Weeks. First book of another fantasy series I wanted to check out for a while. I don’t know why I always associate it with Young Adult genre. Perhaps it’s the cover design.

15. The Runelords by David Farland. I’m taking a gamble here. I first saw The Runelords (or The Sum of All Men how it’s dubbed, I guess) in my friendly neighbourhood library, and it kind of attracted me with it’s cheesy fantasy cover and a catchy title. Besides, it was released by Tor – the giant of fantasy publishing house. To be honest, I’ve heard this books sucks, but I would like to form my on opinion about it. After all, this wouldn’t be the first time I would like a book contrary to the public opinion.

16. The Tales of Bauchelain and Korbal Broach, and The Forge of Darkness by Steven Erikson. Oh my, that is a lot of fantasy I purchased this time. But it’s Steven Erikson – the guy who wrote The Malazan Book of the Fallen – the long and scary series I’ve been meaning to check out for the last two years. I couldn’t find any of the actual Malazan books, but I did score the first book from the new prequel trilogy and the short story collection set in the same world.

17. Dreamsongs, Vol. 1 by George R. R. Martin. I see myself finishing the last available The Song of Ice and Fire book sometime next year, and who knows when George gets around publishing something else. Meanwhile I can entertain myself with his earlier short stories.

18. The Chronicles of the Black Company by Glen Cook. I did not like The Black Company at all. Maybe it wasn’t good timing, or maybe the style of writing just couldn’t click with me, but the fact stands that I was bored to death by this book. I do know someone, however, who wants to check out the series, so I thought I’d save them twenty bucks in case they end up loathing it like I do. And if they love it, they are free to keep this copy.

19. Cryptonomicon and Quicksilver by Neal Stephenson. I had both books sitting on my TBR for years. I also purchased the System of the World (third book in Baroque cycle) last year at a thrift shop, so having Quicksilver (the first book) was a no-brainer.

20. Pirate Latitudes by Michael Crichton. I want to check out Crichton’s works outside of his wildly-popular Jurassic Park books. Pirate Latitudes isn’t exactly my top choice, since I’m more interested in either Eaters of the Dead or Timeline, but why not?

21. Infinite Jest by David Foster Wallace. I was so happy to grab this book! I’ve been toying with the idea of reading it this summer and following a schedule from a now defunct Goodreads group “The Summer of Jest”. The read might or might not happen, but I’m glad to now own the book of my own.

22. A Prayer for Owen Meany by John Irving. I heard this was phenomenal. Other than that I have no idea what the book is all about. Any comments?

23. Stranger in the Strange Land by Robert A Heinlein. Not a book you’d expect to see readily available at a used book sale, and I don’t think I’ve ever bumped into a physical copy before. I understand this is a classic science fiction from the same guy who brought you Starship Troopers? Meant to read it for a while, so I grabbed this one without a second thought.

And there you have it. I’m very happy how this sale turned out. For the price of one big hardcover novel I got myself around thirty books! For the curious, estimate came from Under the Dome, whose retail price is CAD$39.99 (Ouch!).

But now to the exciting part! You might have noticed a copy of The Terror by Dan Simmons among my purchases, which I haven’t commented on yet. Here’s why. I actually already own the exact same copy, but when I saw it at the sale I thought of you, my dear friends. The Terror was one of the best novels I read in 2013. It was marvelously complex and atmospheric, and I am excited to give this book to one of you in hopes you will love it too. This isn’t a real giveaway in fact, but more like sharing my most heartfelt recommendation. You don’t have to post about it or mention it on twitter to get extra points, or even answer a tricky question. All you have to do to enter is to comment bellow to let me know you’re interested in getting it. Please remember that this is a used book, and while it’s in an extremely good condition, it might not be up to your standards if you’re looking for a pristine copy. The giveaway will run until 11:59pm on Saturday, March 1. I will use a random number generator to pick a winner and announce the results on Sunday. To see what the book is all about, please see for the description below. Good luck!

3974

The men on board HMS Terror have every expectation of triumph. As part of the 1845 Franklin Expedition, the first steam-powered vessels ever to search for the legendary Northwest Passage, they are as scientifically supported an enterprise as has ever set forth. As they enter a second summer in the Arctic Circle without a thaw, though, they are stranded in a nightmarish landscape of encroaching ice and darkness. Endlessly cold, with diminishing rations, 126 men fight to survive with poisonous food, a dwindling supply of coal, and ships buckling in the grip of crushing ice. But their real enemy is far more terrifying. There is something out there in the frigid darkness: an unseen predator stalking their ship, a monstrous terror constantly clawing to get in.When the expedition’s leader, Sir John Franklin, meets a terrible death, Captain Francis Crozier takes command and leads his surviving crewmen on a last, desperate attempt to flee south across the ice. With them travels an Inuit woman who cannot speak and who may be the key to survival, or the harbinger of their deaths. But as another winter approaches, as scurvy and starvation grow more terrible, and as the terror on the ice stalks them southward, Crozier and his men begin to fear that there is no escape. The Terror swells with the heart-stopping suspense and heroic adventure that have won Dan Simmons praise as “a writer who not only makes big promises but keeps them” (Seattle Post-Intelligencer). With a haunting and constantly surprising story based on actual historical events, The Terror is a novel that will chill you to your core.

5 comments

  1. Awww…. How I envy you! I want to have them ALL too 🙂 Unfortunately, there is no such choice at our small sales here…

    Here Be Dragons is great, I read it this autumn and couldn’t put it down! Although it IS a bit chick-litish (like Outlander, or what I hear about it anyway), it is also very well-researched. Outlander is on my to-read this spring and I have high hopes for it. I guess a couple of hot Scottish guys can’t spoil anything 🙂 Also, yay for all the classics and Tolkien! 🙂

  2. This is great. I enjoyed reading about all these books you bought and carried to your home as much as I would enjoy buying them and carrying them myself! Lots of good titles there..
    And the pictures of recently acquired books are always making me feel exuberant.

  3. Lucky you! I am especially drooling over the Penguin Classics! My Antonia was just wonderful! I’ve read two of her novels so far and can’t wait to start making my way through the rest. George MacDonald’s Complete Fairy Tales is a score too; I don’t think it’s that easy to find.

    I tried to get through Outlander but it was too chick-ish for me and I ended up putting it down. Good luck though …….. it’s entirely possible that you’ll have better results than me.

    And what can one say about Tolkien? I have about 12 copies of each book of The Lord of the Rings. Love his writing!

    So do you have a goal for getting through all these books? A couple of months, perhaps? 😉

    Happy reading!

  4. I seek out Penguin Classic editions as well. Someone has to love these discard books. The sad thing to me is the likelihood that the Penguin editions are no longer carried by the library. I know I have been shocked by the lack of some of the classic book my system doesn’t carry. I can understand the need to pare down a few copies of a new title from 15 to 5 to make room for the newest fade, but at the complete expense of some makes me sad.

  5. What a great pile of books! I bought a copy of Prince of Foxes just a few weeks ago and can’t wait to start reading it. I loved Outlander and the other books in that series, but I know they divide opinion and aren’t to everyone’s taste. And I enjoyed Here Be Dragons too!

Leave a Reply

